Monday, September 19, 2011

school vs. sleep

Do you ever have those days where yous just SO tired in school that you can't even yawn or fall asleep. Yeah ... that was me today, I spent ALL day yesterday working on homework from 10 a.m. to 2 a.m. And then wasn't able to fall asleep.  so the 3 hours I did manage to get were all i was running on today. But I guess I have to get used to that this year..... ugh. So its either lack of sleep and being cranky all the time, or bad grades and not getting the IB diploma.  Oh shucks, well i guess sleep is going to be a luxury this year.
But sometimes I have to wonder, we are pressured with so much homework all the time, to the point where some people have to go and get professional help under the stress.  And all we are told is that we have to do well and do all this if we want colleges to accept us.  Do colleges really want zombie students who need medical help because of all the stress they have been placed under? I thought they wanted people that would be unique and do well in school, as well as doing a few things that make them a well rounded person. Do you ever feel like that? That no matter what you do, it's never enough, and that everyone is just swallowed in a big dark hole of expectations that they can never fill. 
I also thought that high schools were going to lay off on the pressure, trying to help us get through things so that we feel encouraged to get into college, not deterred by the fact that we wont be able to please the colleges we want to get into.  And what about those people who try so hard to be perfect, and even when they seem to be, some sort of authoritative figure is always undermining them and focusing on the negative instead of all the wonderful things that person has accomplished. 
I can't tell you how much I am aggravated by this, not everyone is capable to be incredibly book smart, but they still should have the right to get into college.  Because, believe it or not, there ARE jobs out there, and some good ones too, that don't necessarily require you to be book smart. And one of the biggest things colleges focus on for accepting people is SAT scores! Are you kidding me!!!  Those tests are DESIGNED to test you knowledge based on things that AREN'T taught in your classes. Ad those people who just aren't good test takers are out of luck, because those tests don't take that into account.  Have colleges not realized this? Not everyone can show their knowledge in the same way. 
Now don't get me wrong, I am not trying to criticize colleges and universities for doing things wrong. They have been around for a HECK of a lot longer then I have so they probably know better anyway. I just think that some of the things that are viewed as important in today's education need to be reconsidered a little bit. 
So, am i the only one that feels this way? or am I just incredibly oblivious to the greater truth. Or maybe, its the lack of sleep talking and not the fact that some things in out education system seem a bit odd. So.. what do you think?

1 comment:

  1. I completely agree with you. They don't teach you how to be a good person in high school, just that you need to work beyond human limits to even have a chance at a successful life. The, what does successful mean? Not everyone needs the same things, like they expect. I totally agree with you here.

    ReplyDelete